Bishop George V. Murry, S.J. Appoints Two Priests to the Position of Dean
Tuesday, 19 December 2017 00:00

NEWS RELEASE                144 West Wood Street,
                                                                     Phone: 330-744-8451
                                                                     Fax: 330-742-6448
                                                                     Rev. Monsignor John A. Zuraw, Chancellor

FOR RELEASE Immediate DATE SENT December 19, 2017
SUBJECT          Bishop George V. Murry, S.J. Appoints Two Priests to the Position of 

MORE INFO     Rev. Monsignor John A. Zuraw, Chancellor   330.744.8451

Bishop George V. Murry, S.J., has appointed two priests to the position of Dean in the Diocese of Youngstown.  The appointments are for a three-year term, beginning November 1, 2017.  They join six priests already serving in that capacity.  There are eight deaneries in the six-county Diocese of Youngstown.  The Deans serve in addition to their current pastoral assignments.

Reverend Thomas Kraszewski is Dean of Stark County-West.  Ordained May 24, 1997, he is the pastor of St. Anthony/All Saints Parish in Canton.

Reverend Leo Wehrlin is Dean of Stark County-East.  Ordained June 12, 1993, he is the pastor of Little Flower Parish, Middlebranch.

The duties and faculties of a Dean are outline in the Code of Canon Law and include the following.  A Dean’s relationship with the bishop is to strengthen the work of the apostolate in his deanery, meeting with the bishop at least quarterly in order to apprise him of conditions and needs in his deanery.  He promotes and coordinates common pastoral activity within the deanery, ensuring that religious functions are celebrated properly, visiting parishes and ensuring that churches, sacred furnishing and parish sacramental books are carefully maintained.  A Dean promotes a spirit of fraternity and cooperation among the clergy, visits sick priests, assists retired priests and keeps the bishop informed of clergy matters in his deanery.