Diocese Announces 2018 Golden Apple Award Winners
Tuesday, 27 March 2018 19:00

NEWS RELEASE                144 West Wood Street,
                                                                     Phone: 330-744-8451
                                                                     Fax: 330-742-6448
                                                                     Rev. Monsignor John A. Zuraw, Chancellor

FOR RELEASE Immediate DATE SENT March 28, 2018
SUBJECT         Diocese Announces 2018 Golden Apple Award Winners

Diocese of Youngstown Office of Catholic Schools 330.744.8451

The Office of Catholic Schools announced the 2018 winners of the Golden Apple Award.  

The awardees are:

Mary Faigley                         St. Thomas Aquinas High School, Louisville
Beth Frank                             St. Joseph Elementary School, Randolph
Stacey McCallister                St. Peter Elementary School, Canton
Diane Oswald                        John F. Kennedy Lower Campus, Warren
Dana Roscoe                         John F. Kennedy Lower Campus, Warren
Shari Sfara                             Holy Family Elementary School, Poland
Janice Weitzman                   St. Charles Elementary School, Boardman

Through the generosity of the Donahue Family Foundation of Pittsburgh, the Golden Apple Award honors outstanding individuals who teach or are an administrator in Catholic schools. The diocese recognizes and deeply appreciates the unique charge these teachers and administrator have to the development of each student. Their selection, from a field of many outstanding educators in the Catholic schools, is a recognition of the commitment and witness of all the Catholic school teachers and administrators throughout the diocese.

The award consists of an unrestricted cash award of $5,000, a certificate, a Golden Apple paperweight, and a Golden Apple lapel pin, presented to the awardees at a dinner to be held on Tuesday, May 1, 2018, at the Youngstown Country Club, in Youngstown, Ohio. Stan Boney, of WKBN-27 First News, will be the Master of Ceremonies for the event.

A selection process at the school and diocesan level was used to determine the awardees.   In addition to being a full-time teacher or administrator who has been in the school where they are currently teaching or administrating for at least three full years, these teachers and administrator must give evidence of the following: professional development, commitment to students and school, leadership qualities, service to Church and community, teaching skills, role model as a Catholic educator.

For further information, contact the Office of Catholic Schools at the diocese, 330-744-8451.