• on March 25, 2021

Diocese of Youngstown Announces 2021 Golden Apple Winners

The Office of Catholic Schools announced the 2021 winners of the Golden Apple Award.   The awardees are:

Kyle Anda                             St. Joseph the Provider Elementary School, Youngstown
Jennifer DeMain                   St. Charles Elementary School, Boardman
Kimberly Foltz                      St. Michael Elementary School, Canton
Angela Mackey                    SS. Philip and James Elementary School, Canal Fulton
Marilou McClimans              St. John School, Ashtabula
Paulina Montaldo                 Ursuline High School, Youngstown
Matthew Sammartino          Ursuline High School, Youngstown

Through the generosity of the Donahue Family Foundation of Pittsburgh, the Golden Apple Award honors outstanding individuals who teach or are an administrator in Catholic schools.  The diocese recognizes and deeply appreciates the unique charge these teachers and administrator have to the development of each student.  Their selection, from a field of many outstanding educators in the Catholic schools, is a recognition of the commitment and witness of all the Catholic school teachers and administrators throughout the diocese.

The award consists of an unrestricted cash award of $5,000, a certificate, a Golden Apple paperweight, and a Golden Apple lapel pin, presented to the awardees at a prayer service and award ceremony to be held on Thursday, May 13, 2021, at St. Columba Cathedral, in Youngstown, Ohio.

A selection process at the school and diocesan level was used to determine the awardees.   In addition to being a full-time teacher or administrator who has been in the school where they are currently teaching or administrating for at least three full years, these teachers and administrator must give evidence of the following:  professional development, commitment to students and school, leadership qualities, service to Church and community, teaching skills, role model as a Catholic educator.

For further information, contact the Office of Catholic Schools at the diocese, 330-744-8451.

Recent Post