St. Mary/St.Benedict Parish – St. Mary Church

Parish History

Immaculate Conception Church, popularly called St Mary’s Canton was established with a school in 1899 to accommodate members of St John’s and St Peter’s who were living in the Southern section of Canton. The first Mass was celebrated in the basement on 24th of December 1899, and the completed structure was dedicated on May 20, 1900, under the pastor, Thomas R. Heimann. A new addition to the school building was completed in 1949.

St. Mary/St. Benedict Parish History

On May 28, 2010, Most Reverend George V. Murry, S.J. Bishop of Youngstown announced the merging of the Parishes of St. Mary and St. Benedict. These two Parishes officially merged on March 25, 2011 with a new name St. Mary/St. Benedict Parish Canton. The new St. Mary/St. Benedict Parish retained the worship sites of St Mary’s Church and St Benedict’s Church. The Rev. Benson Claret Okpara was appointed as the Administrator of the new Parish. Under his leadership, there has been a steady increase in the parish enrollment.


1602 Market Avenue South
Canton, Ohio 44707

Contact Information:

Phone: 330.453.2110
Fax: 330.453.4028

Mass Times:

Saturday Vigil: 4:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am

Rev. Thomas Kraszewski, V.F., Canonical Pastor
Deacon Randolph Smith, Parish Leader