• on August 27, 2019

Permanent Diaconate Ordination at St. Columba Cathedral

The Most Reverend George V. Murry, S.J., Bishop of the Roman Catholic Diocese of Youngstown will ordain fifteen men to the Permanent Diaconate, on Saturday, August 31, 2019 at 10:30 a.m. in St. Columba Cathedral.  Those to be ordained permanent deacons include:

Alfredo Aguirre                      William Bancroft                    William Bone

Sylvester Frazzini                   Mark Kiraly                            Edward Kleese

James Kovats                          Nicholas Iarocci                      Mark Izzo

Jesse McClain                         Andrew McDonald                 William McMahon

Michael Puhalla                      Eric Ruehr                               Philip Tischler

As ministers of Word, deacons proclaim the Gospel, preach and teach in the name of the Church.  As ministers of Sacrament, deacons baptize, lead the faithful in prayer, witness marriages, and conduct wake and funeral services.  As ministers of Charity, deacons are leaders in identifying the needs of others, then marshaling the Church’s resources to meet those needs.  Deacons are dedicated to eliminating the injustices or inequities that cause such needs.  But no matter what specific functions a deacon performs, they flow from his sacramental identity.  In other words, it is not only WHAT a deacon does, but WHO a deacon is, that is important.

Recent Post