• on April 15, 2019

Twenty-Nine Teens to be Honored as Outstanding Christian Leaders at Twenty-first Annual Diocesan “Eagle of the Cross Award” Mass and Banquet

The Office of Youth and Young Adult Ministry of the Catholic Diocese of Youngstown is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 Eagle of the Cross Award. The Eagle of the Cross, created by the National Federation for Catholic Youth Ministry and introduced to the diocese in 1999, is given each year to a group of extraordinary high school juniors and seniors who model the dedication, integrity, values and promise for Church and society.  The award is presented to teens in the six counties of the Diocese of Youngstown who model Christian discipleship and exemplify the qualities of moral integrity, prayer, good works and Christian leadership in their school and parish communities. While a limited number of recipients are chosen for the Eagle of the Cross Award, they represent many admirable young people around the diocese.

This year’s twenty-nine recipients were chosen from 72 nominations that highlighted parish, school, and community youth involvement.  A maximum of two Eagle of the Cross Awards are presented to students in each of the six diocesan Catholic high schools, and up to three involved in the parishes in each of the six counties of the diocese. The recipients of the 2019 Eagle of the Cross Award, as well as all of the nominees, are commended for their positive witness to their Catholic Christian faith and the value of youth involvement in parish, school and community.

The following teens will be presented the 2019 Eagle of the Cross Award at the 21st Annual Eagle of the Cross Awards Liturgy and Banquet on Tuesday, April 30, 2019, at Our Lady of Mount Carmel Basilica, 343 Via Mount Carmel in Youngstown.  The banquet is by invitation only, but the liturgy celebrated by the Most Reverend George V. Murry, S.J. with more than twenty priests, which begins at 6:00 p.m., is open to the public. 

2019 Eagle of the Cross Award Recipients:

Name                                      Grade  High School                            Parish/City

Recipients demonstrating outstanding involvement in the parish and larger community:

Ashtabula County:

Virgina Katherine Grier    12    Jefferson                        St. Joseph Calasanctius
Sarah Ann Riley                  12    St. John                           Our Lady of Peace
Asher G. Searles                  12    Edgewood Senior         Our Lady of Peace

Columbiana County:

Jaret Lane                           12    Carrollton                       St. John the Evangelist
William John Todd           12    East Liverpool               Holy Trinity
Patricia Ann Carr             12     Columbiana                    St. Jude

Mahoning County:

Bridget Bobovnyik           12      Canfield                         St. Christine
Nicholas Matiussi             12      Austintown Fitch         St. Joseph, Austintown
Edward Odom                   12      Austintown Fitch         St. Brendan

Portage County:

Marley Berczik                  12      Streetsboro           St. Joan of Arc, Streetsboro
Logan Orlowski                 12      Home-schooled    St. Ambrose

Stark County:

Katherine Julia Flickinger   11   Central Catholic    SS. Philip and James
Matthew Hersher                  12   Massillon Washington St. Joseph, Massillon
Abigail Noel Marchand        12   Perry                                St. Anthony/All Saints

Trumbull County:

Bridget DePascale                 12   Champion                        St. William
Cullen Faulk                           11   Warren G. Harding        Blessed Sacrament
Nicholas J. Muscarella         11   John F. Kennedy Catholic Blessed Sacrament

Recipients demonstrating outstanding involvement in a diocesan Catholic school:

Name                                      Grade                                      Parish/City
Canton Central Catholic High School:  (Stark County)

Maggie Joy Paul              12                                            St. Joseph, Massillon
Joseph Roth                            12                                            St. Mary, Massillon

Cardinal Mooney Catholic High School:  (Mahoning County)

Brooke  Chandler                   12                                            Holy Family, Poland
Aaron Pepperney                   12                                            Holy Family, Poland

:John F. Kennedy Catholic High School:  (Trumbull County)

Ashley Lytle                           11                                            Blessed Sacrament
Scott Andrew Mintus            11                                            St. William

Saint John Catholic High School:  (Ashtabula County)

Emma Kosicek                  12                                         Our Lady of Peace
Connor Kovach              12                                        St. Joseph Calasanctius

St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic High School:  (Stark County)

Quinn Li Lamp                       12                                          St. Louis
Elizabeth Wheeler                 12                                          St. Louis

Ursuline Catholic High School:  (Mahoning County)

Stephen Babik                        12                                   Our Lady of Sorrows
Jarod Evan Day                      12                                   Immaculate Heart of Mary

The parents, nominators, teachers, mentors, pastors and youth ministers of these youth are also congratulated for inspiring such outstanding teens.

For more information on the Eagle of the Cross Awards, or other programs of the Office of Youth and Young Adult Ministry, contact  Cindee Case,  Director, at 330-744-8451 or ccase@youngstowndiocese.org.

Editors:  Media is welcome and encouraged to cover the Liturgy on April 30, 6:00 p.m., at Our Lady of Mt. Carmel Church, 343 Via Mt. Carmel, Youngstown. Approximately 230 people will be in attendance, including more than 20 priests concelebrating with Bishop Murry. Please have staff check in with Cindee Case upon arrival.

Recent Post