• on October 25, 2018

Twenty-Two to be Commissioned Lay Leaders

Twenty-two men and women from around the diocese will be commissioned as Lay Leaders of Prayer on Wednesday evening, November 14, 2018.  The commissioning will take place during Evening Prayer at the Our Lady of the Lakes Parish – Saint James Church in North Jackson, Ohio.  Monsignor Robert Siffrin, Vicar General of the Diocese of Youngstown, will be the presider.

Leaders of Prayer are lay persons commissioned to lead the faithful in acts of worship which in the past were most often led by the ordained clergy but which may be also led by lay people.  Among these services are Morning and Evening Prayer, Liturgy of the Word with or without the distribution of Holy Communion, devotions, the vigil service and rite of committal from the Order of Christian Funerals, and in an emergency, Sunday Celebrations in the Absence of a Priest.  Leaders of Prayer are commissioned not only to lead currently scheduled acts of worship in the parish in the absence of a priest but also to expand the opportunities for communal prayer.  They are commissioned for a period of three years for service in their parish under the direction of the pastor.

The new Lay Leaders of Prayer include:

Ashtabula County:

            –Our Lady of Victory Parish, Andover: Mrs. Joyce Church,
–Saint Mary Parish, Orwell:  Mr. James Kovats.

Mahoning County:

–Holy Apostles Parish, Youngstown:  Mr. Juan Duran.
–Saint Brendan Parish, Youngstown:  Mr. Joseph Kachurek.
–Saint Columba Cathedral Parish Youngstown:  Mr. Timothy Elder, Sister Martha Reed, OSU.
–Saint Joseph Parish, Austintown:  Mrs. Susan Paczak.
–Saint Luke Parish, Boardman:  Mr. Don Shilling.
–Saint Michael Parish, Canfield:  Mr. Brian Berlin, Mr. Michael Kempe.
–Saint Patrick Parish, Youngstown:  Miss Marcy Fessler.
–Saint Paul the Apostle Parish, New Middletown:  Mr. Samuel Morocco.

Portage County:

–Saint Joan of Arc Parish, Streetsboro:  Mr. Eric Howard.
–Saint Joseph Parish, Mogadore:  Mrs. Anita Workman.

Stark County:

–Holy Family Parish, Navarre:  Ms. Patricia Condello.
–Saint Joan of Arc Parish, Canton:  Mr. Richard Hull, Miss Rebecca Johnson.

Trumbull County:

–Blessed Sacrament Parish, Warren:  Ms. Patricia Rogan.
–Saint Patrick Parish, Kinsman:  Mrs. Ann Hornbeck, Mr. Steve Horodyski.
–Saint Rose Parish, Girard:  Mr. Chad Johnson.
–Saint William Parish, Champion:  Mrs. Tina McCue.

The eight week series was conducted by Rev. Michael D. Balash, director of the Office of Worship, Dr. Daniel Laginya, director of music, St. Columba Cathedral, and Mrs. Fran Amer, St. Michael Parish, Canfield.

Recent Post