Close this search box.

Two Seminarians to be Ordained to the Transitional Diaconate

St Columba Cathedral in Youngstown

Diaconate Ordination will take place on Saturday, June 3, 2023 at Saint Columba Cathedral


May 30, 2023

CONTACT: Justin Huyck, Director of Communications; (330) 744-8451, ext. 320,

YOUNGSTOWN, OH – On Saturday, June 3, 2023, the Most Rev. David J. Bonnar, Bishop of Youngstown, will ordain two seminarians, Mr. Kevin Bertleff and Mr. William Wainio, as transitional deacons for the Diocese of Youngstown. The ordination liturgy will take place at the Cathedral of Saint Columba in Youngstown at 10:30 a.m., and can also be viewed online at The Catholic Echo website at

Following ordination, the new deacons will be assigned to serve in diaconal ministry at a diocesan parish while they finish their final year of formation in anticipation of expected ordination to the priesthood next year. Their assignments will be announced during the ordination Mass. Additionally, in the Fall, both will return to Saint Mary Seminary and Graduate School of Theology in Wickliffe, Ohio, to complete their priestly studies.

Mr. Kevin Bertleff, a son of John and Kathleen Bertleff, is from St. Robert Bellarmine Parish in Cortland. He attended Lakeview schools and is a graduate of the University of Mount Union, in addition to his current studies at Saint Mary Seminary and Graduate School of Theology.
Mr. William Wainio, a son of Anthony and Cynthia Wainio, is from St. Angela Merici Parish in Youngstown. He attended Saint Luke School in Boardman, Ursuline High School in Youngstown, and is a graduate of Youngstown State University.

Separately, on June 17th at 10:30am, at St. Columba Cathedral, the Diocese of Youngstown will also celebrate the ordination of Deacon Robert England, Deacon John Rovnak, and Deacon Frederick Schlueter to the priesthood. A separate press release is forthcoming.

Share on Social Media