Close this search box.

Diocese Announces 2022 Golden Apple Winners


April 4, 2022

MORE INFO:  Office of Catholic Schools, Diocese of Youngstown, (330) 744-8451

YOUNGSTOWN, OH — The Office of Catholic Schools announced the 2022 winners of the Golden Apple Award. The awardees are:

Kimberly Ritter St. Charles Elementary School, Boardman
Jessica Fryda Holy Family Elementary School, Poland
Kate Samolczyk St. Paul Elementary School, North Canton
Connie Carbone St. Barbara Elementary School, Massillon
Patricia Muffet St. Paul Elementary School, North Canton
Mark Uerling Ursuline High School, Youngstown
Alyse Consiglio John F. Kennedy High School, Warren

Through the generosity of the Donahue Family Foundation of Pittsburgh, the Golden Apple Award honors outstanding individuals who teach or are an administrator in Catholic schools. The diocese recognizes and deeply appreciates the unique charge these teachers and administrator have to the development of each student. Their selection, from a field of many outstanding educators in the Catholic schools, is a recognition of the commitment and witness of all the Catholic school teachers and administrators throughout the diocese.

The award consists of an unrestricted cash award of $5,000, a certificate, a Golden Apple paperweight, and a Golden Apple lapel pin, presented to the awardees at a prayer service and award ceremony to be held on Thursday, May 5, 2022 at the Youngstown Country Club, Youngstown, Ohio.

A selection process at the school and diocesan level was used to determine the awardees. In addition to being a full-time teacher or administrator who has been in the school where they are currently teaching or administrating for at least three full years, these teachers and administrator must give evidence of the following: professional development, commitment to students and school, leadership qualities, service to Church and community, teaching skills, role model as a Catholic educator.

For further information, contact the Office of Catholic Schools at the diocese, 330-744-8451.


Share on Social Media