Parish History

Prior to 1908, the Catholic residents in Sebring traveled to St. Joseph’s in Alliance for Mass. Finally, in 1908, Fr. Francis Hopp, the pastor of St. Joseph’s began celebrating Mass here in Sebring at the Knights of Pythias Hall. The first resident pastor, Fr. George Schoenemann, established a temporary church in a former butcher shop, in which services were held until 1910.

A new church was built by Fr. Thomas Hanrahan in 1910 with the help of willing parishioners. Fr. J.A. Powers, who succeeded Fr. Hanrahan, served St. Ann’s for 17 years and built the present parish house.

Fr. Victor Struder succeded Fr. Powers in 1930 and during his brief pastorate he increased the size of the congregation, remodeled the church, and added a church bell tower. In 1933 Fr. Francis Dietz took over and served St. Ann’s until his death in 1944.

Fr. Ferris Petros came to St. Ann’s in July of 1944. He built the present St. Ann Church during his pastorate. He died the year the church was completed in 1960. His funeral was the last Mass celebrated in the old wooden church.

St. Ann Parish celebrated “A Century of Faith” in 2008!


323 South 15th Street
Sebring, Ohio 44672

Contact Information:

Phone: 330.938.2033
Fax: 330.938.6544

Mass Times:

Saturday Vigil: 5:00pm
Sunday: 9:00am
Holy Days: As scheduled in the bulletin
Weekdays: Tuesday – 9:00am

Very Rev. Monsignor Lewis Gaetano, V.F., Canonical Pastor
Deacon Gregory Wood, Parish Leader